Comfort Food: Biscuits and Gravy


While I’m getting the hang of this blogging thing, I decided to use some of my favorites from past Facebook notes. This was originally posted on my Facebook page on January 8, 2010 under the same title. Only minor edits in the text have been applied.

=======================================================================================

Biscuits and Gravy.

B & G.

Oh. So. Delightful.

Nothing warms the house or stomach quite like it. My poor father did not get any made for him last time I was home. Though no one in our family needed another vehicle for fat and calories, there is always a sense of contentment when the dish is mentioned. It is the ultimate “I’m home!” comfort food.

I felt as though a torch was passed when about a year ago, my mother was held up at work for the morning and she called the house to ask that I make the biscuits and gravy (we were to have a family brunch). It was as though I entered another level in the circle of trust.

I can count at least four friends I have made solely through this handed down tradition. And I have a confession: I fantasize that one day over a plate of piping hot biscuits and steaming sausage gravy, the man of my dreams will look at me and say, “What sort of idiot was I to not ask you to be my wife sooner!?!”

Or maybe something a little more romantically inclined.

In the meantime, my friends put up with me. And to thank them, I make biscuits with sausage gravy goodness.

In watching my mother make these over the years, I have learned that one person can make both the biscuits and the gravy without assistance if you time everything just right. This brings out the control freak in me.

Mmm, sausage. This is about how much the sausage *should* peek out from the milk. This isn’t exact science, it’s gravy.
My pride did take a hit the other day. I didn’t have my Better Homes and Gardens recipe handy, so I just tried to remember it. While edible, the biscuits weren’t up to my normal standard of excellence. My pride would not allow me to reach for the Betty Crocker cookbook sitting on the shelf. My hideous, judgmental self said “You’re good for a lot of things Betty, but don’t mess with my biscuits.”

I hope that attitude is not a metaphor for the rest of my life. That I will continually be disappointed because I didn’t reach out and try new things that are just as good as what I’m accustomed to in life.

Alas, the B & G was served alongside some wonderful eggs over-easy and oranges. Then as if we hadn’t eaten enough, a bowl of Little Debbie treats appeared and a proper dessert for B & G was declared to be: a Ding Dong.


All is well and yet another day passes that contentment reigns in all.

ENJOY!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Why I Need to Kill a Chicken « tallrayofsunshine
  2. Anna
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 09:45:29

    But WHERE’S THE RECIPE??

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

