Life in the desert…


Posted to Facebook on Wednesday, January 30, 2008.

===================================================================================

About 1 month ago, I was excited. I had quit a job that was sucking the life out of me, I was in Cleveland having a blast; it was a new year that had many promises and I knew that I was following God’s plan. Yet on my way to the Cleveland airport a few days later, I wasn’t so happy. Granted, it was 5 AM and I did not want to leave the company of The Opera Boy. No, I had an impending sense of doom that morning. Or as I told Opera Boy, “The reality of my decisions are going to be lived out. I’m on the edge of the desert.”

I’m not saying that I deserve “spiritual mogul” status. Moses, Jesus, Paul, Elijah; all these biblical examples and thousands more throughout history have been lead by God to a place of physical dryness (I guess in Paul’s case it was prison rather than a desert…anyway). These people had to know that strength comes from God alone. Their comfort was secondary to the work God was doing in their heart. The solidarity doesn’t become painful, rather a comfort that you are only in God’s presence. He might not even communicate anything, just that He is present and loves you.

Sadly, I have distractions: cats, internet, applications, class, voice lessons, unpacking, lists, etc. Why is it so hard to shove those aside for 30-45 minutes a day? What about time with God is so hard? Truthfully, I’m afraid of what God will do or want me to hear. It is so much easier to read a happy passage in the bible, pray a happy or please help me prayer, and NOT CHANGE anything. I don’t want to know the ugly parts of me. I don’t want God to show me His ideas; they generally cause me emotional strife for a week! Yet, I want change, which means that I DO want to know the ugly parts of me so they may be forgiven. I DO want God to reveal to me his plans, otherwise I’m in for more junk and an empty heart. So, what I fear the most is what I need the most.

The desert isn’t fun, but necessary. It’s where I’m growing, learning, and molded. God has blessed me in this place and shown me love that I never thought would be mine. Pray for me; it’s going to be a long road.

Beautifully dry, I’d say.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: From Teaching to Nursing | tallrayofsunshine

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

