More Camp Tidbits and Observations


Originally posted on Facebook Saturday, July 12, 2008.

Okay, two notes in one day might be a bit overkill, but I have limited internet time on my laptop. Pictures will be posted later…I promise.

1. I hate wearing the same thing four days in a row – swimsuit, board shorts, tank top. In a row.
2. Before camp, I was able to stand High School Musical. After listening to the CD on repeat for about 6 hours per day…I’m not such a fan. After watching it for only the second time, I realize why I don’t miss high school.
3. I wear socks on the pool deck. I had visions of the cement doing an amazing callous removal on my feet; instead my foot pads are tender and not a fan of flat shoes or surfaces.
4. Everyone here is ecstatic that the lake is back; yet I, as a “Waterfront Instructor” am fairly apathetic towards the progress.
5. Irony is everywhere
6. How do the outdoors, adventure challenge, opera, and medicine fit together? If you have any ideas, let me know.
7. Do I have to be friends with you on Facebook if I never talked with you in the 4 years we went to high school together?
8. Even with my less than happy days here so far, I feel that I’m closer to a “home”
9. I have very few people with whom I can have a good rant. For that reason, I appreciate those who have provided me an audience.
10. I have a new found appreciation for songs that say it all in their title: “Beautiful Disaster” by John McLaughlin and “The World Spins Madly On” by The Weepies come to mind.
11. No, I don’t know a lot of my life’s details after August 1. Next subject.
12. There was something about my campers’ smiles that snaps me back to the reality that life isn’t about acquiring status, stuff, or smarts.
13. Life is to be treasured and shared, regardless of the abilities and cognitive function of all involved. The two greatest commandments begin with the same word: Love.
14. Most people live in some sort of fearfulness.
15. We all have dreams, desires and pursuits that God gives us a passion to seek and achieve their success for his glory. Some people might be held back by their physical bodies; others with fully capable bodies are held back by their mind. I’m beginning to believe that those held back by their mind are at the greater disadvantage.
16. Dr. Seuss is one of the wisest, non-theological writers. Ever.
17. Any hygiene beyond clean clothes and deodorant is enough to brighten my day.
18. I was slimed, ROYALLY. Let me clarify: in one fell swoop, I had ice water, flour, mud, and oogly poured over me.
19. It took 4 weeks for me to really sunburn. Wahoo!

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

