Home again, Home again, Jiggety-jig


One of these days, I’ll get around to a good rant. There are several brewing in the education and dating realm. Until then…Orthodoxy!

On my way to church, I usually do a very Un-Orthodox thing…listen to Contemporary Christian radio. For several weeks either coming or going – and a few weeks ago both ways – the song “Home” by Switchfoot has been playing; those of you who saw Prince Caspian have heard it. One line has rung in my brain for days, “Created for a place I’ve never known.”

I get weary of people walking into churches and declaring, “I’m HOME!” Church should be home. But the context of the former seems to be more in the direction of décor, ritual or lack of ritual; others merely reflect on the fact that St. ____ or First _____ of Any town has been their place of worship since birth.

I marvel at people who have lived in the same house, if not the same room, from birth to college. Part of me wants that piece of security blanket and another part is ecstatic that I’m not attached to one place. So many times, “home” is where I have made it – whether it be a room, apartment, or city. But what if the “home” we all long for isn’t a place created by ourselves, but the place created by God, the Creator who knows the love and structure we need?

Beginning my junior year of college, “home” became a fluid concept. My parents had moved to a new state, almost 6 years to the day we arrived in Kansas. I was unable to call Lawrence and my small portion of Sellards Scholarship Hall my home. Yet, “my” room in Iowa has been occupied more by my brother and sister-in-law than me – although the closet has been a free storage space for a while (Thanks, Mom and Dad). I started calling Wichita home, yet it wasn’t where I was born. A general “Kansas” suffices in light conversation which I’m more than happy to give [see prior post], but that response seems to only work outside of the state.

Do I need one place? One home? Can’t I be mobile and grow where I’m planted which currently is in an Orthodox Church? I want a home, for both living and church. I have a feeling that my life has pre-disposed me to my place not being on this Earth. Just as with other aspects of Christian spirituality, I sense the Orthodox Church intends that both the physical building and the people who gather in the building are Home. It isn’t in the continuity and structure of the liturgy that I find Home, though familiarity helps. It is that in every Liturgy, the Unknowable and Unfathomable Holiness of God descends to His people declaring that I am in HIS house, I am apart of HIS family, therefore, I am the closest to an earthly Home that I will ever taste.

One of my Wichita friends contended that “life was designed to be profoundly disappointing.” I disagreed, both then and now. God designed Eden to be Home for man, but as soon as Adam and Eve messed up – they got the beginnings of the world we know. I purport that life was not designed for profound disappointment but because of The Fall, life IS profoundly disappointing which is why we long for completeness, contentment, purpose, and peace—all found at Home.

My logic goes a bit like this:

Home is where the heart is.
“Love the Lord your God with all your heart…” Deuteronomy 6:5
“He who has My commandments and keeps them is the one who loves Me…” John 14:21
“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness…” Matthew 6:33
“My kingdom is not of this world…But now my kingdom is from another place.” John 18:36

Hmm.

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

