“When I was a single girl…”


Summer 2009, I was reclaiming my life, so to speak. But I had a moment and felt it worthy of my attention and writing.

I just had a single-girl-in-her-apartment moment. I didn’t even realize it until I had taken the first bite of ice cream.

For a variety of reasons, I was wiped out this evening. It even warranted a short nap around 7 PM. Yeah, that bad. On my way home from parakeet-nannying, I really wanted some ice cream. Thankfully, I still had my “Free Pint of Starbucks Ice Cream” coupon handy. Sadly, no Caramel Macchiato was available. But Java Chip was!!!! The drive home was the perfect length to soften the pint; a few short moments after entering my doorway, I plunged the large spoon in the pint and tasted. It was missing something… I quickly softened a remnant of fudge sauce in the microwave and poured it on the top.

Wow.

I then sat in my over-sized chair, flopped my legs over an armrest, and enjoyed the coffee chocolate smooth goodness. I enjoyed it so much there was a second pouring of fudge sauce! Don’t worry; there are still 2-3 servings of ice cream left.

Savoring the java-mocha decadence, I suddenly had an overwhelming need to enjoy the moment for what it was. It was so peaceful. It was a defining minute. But at the same time, my single girl moment isn’t supposed to be some crowning achievement in feminine independence. It’s just me. Enjoying specialty ice cream out of the carton. With a big spoon. It was a good moment.

My mind drifted to how my life will drastically change from the above scene if my prayers for a husband and family are answered. I will have to maintain a larger space than I currently occupy…and I’ll have to share it. Any sort of treat will be seen and asked for “pretty please with a cherry on top.” I won’t even have time to write about my ramblings, unless I can become some sort of musical superwoman with the blogging and photographic prowess of Pioneer Woman.

Yet, I was encouraged that on down the road, I will trade my Ice Cream Zen for other moments. and I’m excited for them. But tonight was different. I was okay having my “moment” and content to wait for the others to come. Mind you at some point in the future, I will not be so content.

“Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.” Psalms 37:7

So, while I’m waiting, I get little tastes of contentment and thanksgiving “ice cream.” Like when I held each of my nieces for the first time. Or when I saw my first shooting star (just last month, by the way). Late night swims at the lake. Seeing flowers on my desk from students the morning after a concert. Talking with old friends and picking up right where we left off. Tasting the freshly picked tomato.

I hope I learn to continually be thankful for what I have. I like my life so much more when I remember humility and thanksgiving.

All the days of the afflicted are bad, but a cheerful heart has a continual feast.
Psalm 15:15
Bright eyes gladden the heart; good news puts fat on the bones. Psalm 15:30

Had there been ice cream with fudge sauce in Solomon’s time, he might have replaced that last word with “hips. “

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

