A Part of the Herd


There are a few times in my life that I have felt out of place. Very, very out of place. The times you look around and go, “I really don’t belong here.”

I love driving in the country. It’s peaceful and exhilarating. Cities are great, but I love exploring a curvy country road. It makes me feel like an adventurous pioneer with a purpose.

On one such curvy road, just off of I-65 south of Nashville/Franklin, Tennessee, I noticed some cattle like these.

Thanks to my dad, I know a little bit about cattle breeds. Let me emphasize little.

The cattle pictured above are Black Angus cattle, and yes, I tried to find the MOST offensive picture possible. Cattle, especially bulls with nose rings on a cold day, are a bit on the messy side. But only slightly. Also, I look at this picture and wonder how tasty these animals will be. Sorry, vegetarians.

Anyway, this is a different breed of beef cattle, the Charolais (pronounced shar-LAY):

When driving on said country road in Tennessee, I noticed in the herd of Tasty Black Angus was something similar to this:

I don’t actually know if the random white cow was a Charolais breed or not, and I didn’t have my camera handy to stop and take a picture of the actual event. In fact, the white bovine I saw almost looked like an ox, yak, or other larger ruminating animal. Whatever that blonde oddity was, I just saw cows in a field and felt they were trying to encourage me.

That it’s okay to stand out in the herd, even if we all eat the same grass.

And sometimes the companionship you are given, even if different than you, is the community you need.

So now if I say, “I’m having a blonde-yak day,” you’ll know what I mean.

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

