How The Grinch Stole Thanksgiving


I love Dr. Seuss’s “How The Grinch Stole Christmas.” It is hands-down one of my “must-see” shows during the holidays; I’m referring to the original animated 1966 version. I find the Jim Carey one to be aweful. Also, if I don’t watch it, I will belt out, “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch” at some point during the month of December.

As I was cleaning up the kitchen last night, I decided to watch “The Grinch” rather than turn on the holiday tunes. And I remembered last Thanksgiving’s lesson.

Summer of 2010 proved to be very eventful in the not-so-wonderful bent. To shorten a VERY long story, I was happy to finally move into a spacious townhouse after a short stay with an elderly woman who was very controlling.

At Thanksgiving, it was reported to me that this woman might appreciate a visit and some Thanksgiving fixings. Enough time had passed since my bad experience of living with her that I decided that spreading a little holiday cheer wouldn’t kill me. So, I packaged up some food, and I called to say I would be over in a few minutes.

So we chatted a bit, enjoyed a sip of wine, got caught up with the news and events, and I left some food for her. She had apparently just gotten off the phone with a relative who had a meal brought to her home, and my call came right as she was ripe for a visitor and for someone to bring her a meal for celebrating. As we were talking, I thought I saw a melting of her heart. A little glimmer that she was still open to loving others. I had done a good thing.

As I told a few others of my time of “checking in” on her, I mentioned that in conversing with her, it was as though I was seeing “The Grinch’s heart growing 3 sizes” along with a good self-pat on the back. That is, until, one of the ladies in the circle said, “Wait I don’t get it, who was the Grinch?”

Oh.

Maybe I was.

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

