Misadventures…Part III: The Sheet Cake


The final installment of a lengthy cake decorating adventure……

For those of you just joining my baking banter, you might want to read about my Thursday/Friday and then my Saturday before you continue reading this note.

While having baked the large Lenten Chocolate Cake (i.e. no eggs, no milk) on Friday, I still had not decorated it. After saying good-bye to my friends, I made a quick midnight run to the grocery store for some more powdered sugar, and then headed home. Mind you, I had just finished a “day trip” to Nashville, TN. Oh, I also was to open The Bakehouse at 6 AM Sunday morning.

My blank canvas for the evening:

So, in the next 5 ½ hours, I proceeded to level the cake, switch its cake board, bake an angel food cake, make about 12 cups of Wilton Trans-fat Free icing, transfer the guitar outline to the cake, color all the icing colors making sure they are of correct consistency, fill in the guitar with stars, pipe a lower and upper border, and write “Many Years, Fr. Peter.”

See:

Let me give you a quick run down on icing and piping. Decorator’s icing typically has three consistencies. “Stiff” is needed for upright decorations, of which I had none, so I didn’t need to worry. Thank goodness; my arms were still tired from the cupcake stars. “Medium” is needed for borders and pretty much anything that needs to maintain a shape but is less than 1/4″ off the surface. “Thin” is used for the surface icing of the cake. To put this in perspective for this cake: I made A LOT of thin icing and battled with the medium tints for several hours. I also don’t own a plethora of pastry tips, so there was some frustration in cleaning tiny openings at 2:30 AM so I could switch colors.

I probably could have not been so detailed, but the entire parish was going to see this cake. And it was for my priest – which is why there was also an angel food cake. I was told by Kh. Kristina (my priest’s wife) that his absolute favorite cake was angel food. So there was a cake for the masses and the “favorite” cake.

Lessons learned:

  1. Get tinting bowls. Rippled drinking glasses are really inconvenient for tinting icing.
  2. When needing a dark color, remember that baking cocoa is your best friend. That way you don’t have to keep adding tint and pray it gets dark enough when you need a mahogany color.
  3. There is no shame in buying pre-tinted icing (even if it means those nasty trans-fats.).
  4. Turn large cakes half-way through baking so they have a more even top.
  5. Go ahead and risk cake spillage in the oven rather than not having enough cake batter in the pan.

About 5:20 AM, I finished the cake and decided that taking a chance with being late to work would behoove me and my fellow workers more than being on time or early and completely disheveled.

I was close to on-time, though my pony-tail was completely wet.

I also caught myself falling asleep standing up at the counter. It is a miracle that I got everything counted and ready for the next manager.

All three of us – me, the angel food cake and the chocolate cake – made it safely to church. I really don’t remember much of the service, except that during communion I realized it was my last Sunday as a Catechumen. I now wish I could have been more alert during that time to soak in all the significance of the past two years and what is to come in my spiritual walk.

I was doing fine during coffee hour, showing off pictures of the previous day, finishing up some conversations pertaining to the previous week, and chatting it up with my Godmother-to-be. About 5 minutes before choir practice ended, I felt as though my energy turned from 8 to 2 in the course of 30 seconds.

I made it home and returned some phone calls.

Crawled into bed at 2 PM. Woke up to a phone call from a voice student at 3. Saw the clock at midnight. Got up with my alarm at 4:30 the next morning so I could open The Bakehouse. I was a new person.

All in all, these were good days. I had exercised my culinary brain in my “one-butt” and somewhat-deficient kitchen and conquered. Next in line is the Pougas Baby Shower. Now if I can just figure out a business name and get some real training and experience, this baking career just might “pan” out.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Misadventures…Part II: Nashville | tallrayofsunshine

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

