Tiramisu and PBR


**Editor’s note 12/4/11: it was brought to my attention that not everyone understands the abbreviation of PBR. It’s a beer – Pabst Blue Ribbon. As you will read, I find it horrendous.

No, I did not have these two together!

I wanted to post my thoughts before I forgot them. I promise to try to get a few pics up so this post isn’t so boring. Anyway, first thing first.

Tiramisu: My roommate is from Italy finishing up her research stint here in Indiana. Her department is having a dinner this evening, and she was asked to bring the dessert – Tiramisu. I heartily agree with her department. I mean, if you had an Italian who could cook well and of all the things that are tasty but you don’t want to spend time doing, you would ask for a lovely tiramisu as well. And like the hospitable Italian that she is, she made me my own personal serving, which I saved for breakfast this morning. Mmmm….

I think the ladyfingers had an orange or lemon flavor to them, because something intensely citrus was coming through the espresso (made by her personal Italian coffeepot!) and the lovely mascarpone-egg deliciousness. Paired with my hazelnut coffee, I had a lovely start to a Saturday.

PBR:Also, my roommate wanted to celebrate a “traditional” Thanksgiving with the stuffed turkey and trimmings. So, we had a house-full and table-full two weeks ago. For those that did not bring a dish to share, they were in charge of bringing the alcohol. Some brought wine. (Yay!) Some brought imported beer. (Woot.) One person decided to bring PBR. (Gag.) At the end of the evening, there were a few bottles left in the fridge. “What the heck am I going to do with these??” I thought.

As you can tell, I refuse to drink PBR. I didn’t imbibe alcoholic drinks until I was of legal age, thus my friends with a more rebellious past steered me clear of the cheap and nasty beers towards those with smoother flavors and darker colors. Plenty of fluffy drinks were also tried and approved. Thus, when I first smelled PBR, I wondered “Why?”

I think you get my point. So, here I am with 2-3 bottles of PBR and no desire to drink them. Hmmm…. Then in my quest for some gift ideas, I run across a home-made beer bread mix. “Awesome!” I thought. I tried the recipe with a little Negro Modelo. Pretty tasty! Then I went for an IPA import and PBR. I ended up taking the IPA bread to a friend’s small gathering, and it was declared yummy. Since I couldn’t taste the distinction in the Negro Modelo and the IPA, I thought I had found the one good use for PBR.

The next morning, I rushed out the door with a few slices of my PBR bread for breakfast. I could tell instantly that it was PBR. Not even 375 degrees for one hour could take away that distinct bitter nasty taste.

Thankfully, only one more bottle exists. Maybe I’ll bake the bread and give it to someone who likes PBR. Any takers???

Beer Bread
[From Gifts in a Jar: Breads and Muffins]

2 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1/2 cup wheat flour
3 Tablespoons sugar

12 oz beer or seltzer water
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted [I use less]

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix dry ingredients. Add beer and mix until blended; batter will be lumpy. Pour into greased loaf pan. Pour 1/3 of butter on top. Bake for 40 minutes. Pour another 1/3 of butter on top, bake for 10 more minutes. Pour remaining 1/3 butter on top, bake 10 minutes. Allow to cool before slicing.

**Note: I had great success by pouring 1/2 of the butter on top, baking for 45 minutes, then baking another 15 after pouring on the remaining butter.

**I don’t remember the exact measurements, but if you don’t have self-rising flour on hand, use all-purpose flour with baking powder and salt.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 17:08:22

    I think you should give the PBR to a homeless person.

    Reply

  2. debd
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 14:53:59

    I stumbled upon your blog because I accidentally hit the “tag surfer” when I meant to hit “site stats”… anyway, like the blog. I am not a connoisseur of beers so I don’t know what PBR is but I was thinking that you can save the beer for using in a slow cooked meat dish after nativity. It makes a great tenderizer.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

