Still Out There…


I don’t even want to link to the blog where I found the horrible quote below that has been making slow turns in my mind the past two days. A few nights ago, I decided to see what other people were blogging about depression or therapy. After reading a few artistic and poetic based blogs, I saw one where someone actually thought they could offer a solution to depression. Wrong! First, the blog didn’t have an “About” or “Contact” page, therefore, it instantly lacks some credibility. Also, the sentence structure and syntax was horrible. And the point, once you made it through the drabble, was pretty lame.

For whatever reason, I decided to keep reading. So this uneducated person decided to start off a blog post with “Depression is not an illness, it is a weakness.” Um….NOT!!! Obviously, this individual hasn’t kept up with anything medically relevant in the past few decades. Nor have they experienced depression or anxiety themselves or he/she would know to not call it a “weakness.”

I really don’t care that random person wrote something about a medical condition I have which lacks prior thought and has no fact basis. What bothers me is that people running randomly about the world still believe there isn’t a chemical/anatomical/physical reason for depression. They think depression is simply having one bad day after another and choosing to be sad or angry.

Yes, thank you random person for having the “slap the band-aid on the gaping wound” answer to my problems. Thank you for thinking that depression is simply wallowing in my own self-pity, and that I don’t choose God enough.

After I calm down a bit and decide to go to some better sources, I find a solace. I’m lead to saints who prayed for days, months, years. If only I could list off all the saints who faced “low” and “depressing” times in their lives. And while the lives of the saints are typically written in a way that makes you think, “Hmm, easy for them to live!”, if you read carefully, you’ll see the process. The waiting. The daily struggle.

There is freedom. It will come. Sometimes in the form of an SSRI or MAOI. Sometimes in a cognitive shift. But never by ignoring the root and giving a trite answer.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mike Azer
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 09:45:16

    I’d like to thank God that I’ve never gone through depression, but I totally agree with you that in some cases it’s for physiological reasons!
    I loved your lasts paragraph about the saints, it’s true that in many cases the struggles are left out, although that is where the focus should be!
    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

