Hostess Quandry


It’s the week after finals, folks! Thus, I can begin posting all the thoughts and misadventures that have been mulling in my head for the past week or so. Thank you to those of you who have checked back to see if I’ve posted anything during the chaos. With the chaos behind me (and a 4.0 this semester to boot!), I now have some new material…

…and a quandry.

Last night, I had some friends over for dinner. I wanted to host something for those of us who had completed our semester finals and have a get together before we headed our separate ways for Christmas and New Years. Well, some jetted out of town on Friday and others were not feeling so well, so not everyone could come but 5-6 people were available and we had some good conversation, laughs, and games. By the way, I had forgotten how fun Clue is! Drag out those childhood games at your next party.

My question/predicaments/quandry is this: blessing the food before a meal.

Of the 5 of us who sat down to eat on time, 3 were of a similar faith and 2 don’t really ascribe to anything. I didn’t necessarily say anything about wanting a prayer or blessing the meal before people dug in, however, I tried to charge ahead and asked a friend who has been tonsured to a minor order in the Orthodox Church to say the prayer, because well, it just seems right for the male present to ask the blessing.

I am nowhere near “Super Christian.” Actually, I’ve been convicted lately how mediocre I am in living out my beliefs and faith. Yet, when people are at my home for a meal, I would like a blessing said over the food.

Should I have just explained briefly to my friends who do not attend church that I would like a blessing said? What is a way to interject your own practices with people who aren’t of your traditions? What would Miss Manners and Emily Post say?

I’m not worried about offending people by having a prayer said. I wondering the best way to address this situation with as little awkwardness as possible.  I have yet to attend a meal hosted by a person of another religion who would like to say a blessing in their religious tradition. I hope I would be respectful, say a prayer to the One God in Trinity, and get on with a lovely evening. When I was 8 or 9, I remember my dad calmly explaining that we say a prayer before meals in our home, saying a short prayer, then serving up the grilled feast to our neighbors. It seems simple until you’re the one calling the shots. Then, it suddenly got very nerve racking.

So, what is the best way to handle this situation?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:15:09

    Your house, your rules.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

