I’m An Adult, So I Blog


So, I had a first last night: New Year’s Eve date. Like, a real, bona fide date. I’ve gone out on dates before, but never one on a holiday. I was kind of shocked. 2011 is the first year of my existence where not only have I gone on multiple dates but they were with different people. Hm.

Anyway, as I was getting ready, I wondered about online dating sites – specifically the photos people post. As my hair was in rollers and my face had yet to recover from the thorough exfoliation I just gave it, I kept thinking “if a guy isn’t scared away by this, maybe he’s a keeper.” In the past, I have had a few turns on dating websites. There are several categories of pictures: the casual hanging with friends, the photo-op in the middle of an adventure, the drinking pose with lots of arms – to name a few. Anyway, I think it should be required that people post a picture that isn’t so flattering (i.e. face covered in suds, hair in rollers…the whole nine yards) along with one where they look amazing. This way, a potential suitor could see your best, see your worst, compute an average score and go from there. It would be one way of upping the honesty for online dating.

The other musing I had as I was “primping” is my temptation to endlessly chatter with a girlfriend about the upcoming date. What should I wear? What should I make sure I talk about? Do I have an escape plan if things get awkward? What are some questions if I run out of topics?  The thought occurred to me that if I were 10-15 years younger, I would be texting constantly on my phone before, during and after the date so my friends would know every detail.Why do girls/women have this tendency? It seems as though guys just go and maybe give a, “Yeah, it was good” or a, “Yeah, it sucked”, report at some point in the future. I resisted the urge to call a friend and brag/chat about the upcoming evening. While I probably should have spent a little more time in prayer, I instead looked for some favorite jewelry. And I thought “I’m an 29 1/2 year old adult. I save up all my worries, hopes, thoughts, and fears and blog about them the next day.”

Lucky you.

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

