Major Purchase or Major Pain


I would never say that I have practice utmost financial wisdom in my life. In the midst of my non-planning, I still have (mostly) maintained several principles:

  1. Save and pay cash for major purchases – electronics, appliances, instruments, curtains, etc.
  2. Avoid debt, even if it could be considered “good” or “acceptable” (i.e. school loans, car loans, etc.)

My first bachelor’s degree was funded by some major scholarships, thus I was able to graduate debt-free from the University of Kansas. Thankfully, I was warned that the poorest I would ever feel in my new professional life was from the first day of in-service until I received my first paycheck. (Jean, you were right!) Yet, never having been seriously in debt, I never seriously made a plan. I kind of saved, but mostly I would pay the bills then buy what I wanted until my checking account dipped below my “set point” then not spend until the next paycheck.

Not exactly the way to win.

My experience with a financial planner was less than I’d hoped. I was wanting someone to give me advice, and while I knew the person and trusted his decisions, I didn’t realize how much he was expecting me to have already made decisions. Note to self: interview your financial people; they may be nice and honest, but not what or who you need.

Thus, when I had a great salary – I had no idea how to manage it. And now that I have an inkling (let me emphasize further – INKLING) as to the better way to spend and save (Thank you, Dave Ramsey!), I’m a few years away from a steady salary. Such is my lesson with stupid decisions.

I write all of the above as background for my most current distraction: a different car. Here’s what I currently own:

I don’t remember when my twinge for a different vehicle started, it just seemed that the more I drove around running errands and keeping up with life, I would see “them”:

Photo courtesy of edmunds.com

I see Jeep Wranglers all over this town, and I want one! I shouldn’t be too surprised, but my only experience with a Jeep thus far has been a really old and half-way to the junk yard one at the ropes course I used to work. For whatever reason, I can scan a car lot and my eyes fixate on the Jeeps. Not any other SUV or cross-over. Seriously, it doesn’t have to be new. I am feeling ready to be done with my trusty Saturn. It’s been a good car, but I can tell that it is wearing out. I’m getting tired of fixing it along with the signs that I’ve been pretty hard on it in my 9 years of ownership (several cross-country moves, trying to use it as an SUV, massive hauling, etc.)

Here’s the thing – if I want a Jeep AND adhere to my price range as dictated by the amount of cash I have – I will likely have to get one that is older than my current car. Nice.

So, watch this space for details. I do have some resources between Dave Ramsey, Click and Clack, Edmunds.com, and Kelley Blue Book for finding a good deal along with knowing whether or not it’s the right time and a wise purchase. I have some research to do first, then a test drive. I’ll check in after I’ve finished those tasks.

For now, I’ve got some scholarship applications to look over!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 10:38:28

    I know at least a couple of guys who are obsessed with their jeeps and will probably never drive anything else.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

