An Adult First….


So, after my last post about my newest Jeep obsession, I thought about things a bit. I went about my days at school and work, which was rather busy…whew! Now that Spring Break is over, all of my students are back from their travels or health-induced absences. My Thursday is back to its old self!  On Friday, I get to my Home Aid job and hit the ground running. My boss had a temp and possible infection this week, so there has been extra laundry and cleaning to do. I got through most everything with enough time to be let go early. Since I had about 1 1/2 hours before I needed to be at the Akathist service, I decided to test drive the Jeep that has been catching my eye every day.

My thoughts on this adult first:

  • As for the Jeep experience as a whole, it was kind of fun. The more I was in the vehicle, the more I wanted to have a single-girl car. I wasn’t expecting a quiet ride nor amazing steering. It was just a fun ride on a beautiful day!
  • As for the car salesman: Don’t call me “Honey”, ever! You had to get a copy of my driver’s license, you can see that my name is “Laura” – use that name or “Miss (last name)” until further notice. I know it’s a Jeep; I’m not expecting it to be anything like my Saturn, which is why I wanted a test drive before considering it further.
  • Other than the salesman, another downer to the experience include: the Jeep taking a while to get started and even stopping after having gone for about a mile. Some of this was due to the owner having issues with gas-stealing, however, it still was a ding in the experience.
  • There’s also the issue of price. One frustrating thing is that between NADA, Edmunds, and Kelley Blue Book, I’m getting a discrepancy in what the price should be. Some of this is very likely due to me not getting all the specs on the vehicle – all I know is that it’s an automatic transmission with 180,000 miles. In my inexperience, I guess there’s more to look at that I should have asked about.
  • I will be moving to Indianapolis this fall for school. My first thought was “This would be great for pulling a trailer behind me up Hwy 37!” Second thought was, “Hmmmm….open top in winter and easy to break into no matter what season.” It would mean that I could no longer keep ANYTHING secured in my vehicle, but then again, that is one way to keep your car clean. Just some considerations.

Game plan from here:

  1. Save $$$
  2. Still maintain interest in a Jeep but look around at other makes and models.
  3. Test drive other cars
  4. Don’t go to that dealer again. Ever.
Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

