The Car Saga Closes…


Approximately 6 hours after my last post, I was handed yet another bump in the road: car issues. This is why I haven’t posted in 2 weeks. I apologize for not being blogger-extraordinaire.

I’m hard pressed to think of anything more frustrating than car troubles. It doesn’t merely represent a financial burden or an inconvenience. There is a sense of loss of my independence. That with no car to get me around an incredibly inconvenient town, I am stuck. Having a broken down car also means that I have to (yet again!) take care of myself. I was already having a high-low day: some incredibly nice and random person bought my coffee that afternoon, it was pretty outside, yet I was feeling lonely and out of control. I had yet to hear about nursing school and my 30th birthday 2 months away was impending doom rather than an end of an era. So, I now have to take care of a machine that I know little about.

If you haven’t guessed already, I cried. I was already at a friends’ house, so thankfully I wasn’t on the road when my car decided to exude massive amounts of white smoke while dumping most of the reservoir of radiator fluid on the ground. I got the car turned off and made a few quick phone calls letting people know that I wouldn’t be joining them that evening along with arranging a ride to church.  KT fed me dinner once I confessed that most of my nourishment that day was coffee.

After dumping a quart of water into the radiator reservoir 1 1/2 to 2 hours later and successfully starting the car, we made it to the repair shop. I put my key in the drop box and went home. After church the next day, I was told I needed to wait for Monday’s mechanic who was more skilled with radiators.

I made it to work on Monday thanks to The Frau who loaned me her car. It was in mid-morning that I was given the final call: my car’s repairs were probably going to cost more than it was worth. I would definitely need a new engine, I was well-aware that the clutch needed to be replaced and several small electric things were unreliable. So, I went from kinda-sorta looking in car lots in order to make a purchase decision by the end of summer to earnestly looking in 3-4 states at used cars in order to make a purchase decision within a week.

I’ll try to get more of the saga, including my “first-time car buying tips”. Until then, here’s how the week ended:

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

