Three Decades


Yesterday, I turned 30.

It’s funny how I had the same experiences this year and last year, in that at the beginning of July I felt depressed. I came downstairs a week before my 29th birthday, my roommate said “Good morning,” and I promptly burst into tears. Yet, the day of, I was fine. There’s not a thing you can do about turning a year older. All it does is mark the passage of time.

No rules exist which state that by 23 you MUST be graduated from college and be supporting yourself. Nor that you must be married by 27 and have babies by 30. Nor does anything say that you must get married and that if you don’t get married, your career needs to be of utmost fulfillment so you can have something to stave off those who give you that questioning look.

Anyway, 30 was okay. A few days before, I wasn’t a fan. There had been a lot of transition in the preceding weeks, so yet another milestone of change and life was before me. So, while a friend asked for my love and support in the trials of her life, I also selfishly asked for her support in mine. Misery didn’t love or need company. Two friends needed to share their rough times and know that each wasn’t alone.

So, I woke up on Tuesday and saw that my mom texted me before she left for work. The Facebook greetings poured in, and I had an overall good day. Sure, the road construction and idiot drivers in this town were trying to ruin my day, otherwise things were good. After work with “The Brain”, I had a few moments of relaxing before teaching some lessons. My Godmother took me out for a lovely dinner (P.S. if you are ever in Bloomington, you must go to the Irish Lion!) followed by cake and drinks at The Cantor and The Frau’s home. Which is where this loveliness awaited me:

That would be Lenten Chocolate Cake with Almonds frosted with Nutella and covered in toasted nuts. As you can see, they also accurately displayed my age.

It was a good day, despite my efforts a few days/weeks ago to look at turning 30 as a sign-post saying that I’ve failed. Because who’s standard am I being measured against? I was reminded in a conversation with a friend over the weekend that in Micah 6:8 it says: “He has shown thee, O Man, what is good and what the Lord requires of thee. To do justly, to love mercy and to walk humbly with thy God.” That is a Christian’s measuring stick.

Now back to eating my cake…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 15:25:06

    Gotta get that recipe!

    Reply

    • TallRayofSunshine
      Jul 19, 2012 @ 23:54:26

      Lenten chocolate cake with almonds. Mix water (or milk) with Nutella to spreadable consistency. Cover with toasted chopped almonds. At least, this is how I believe The Frau did things. Call her to confirm. Enjoy!

      Reply

  2. mydearbakes
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 08:15:16

    Wow, the cake looks delicious!

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

