Bolt of Wisdom????


I had a study break/dinner/study date with a friend a few months ago. As usual, our conversation turned to relationships. We’re both in our early 30s, thus we have some recurring themes in our conversations:

  1. Lack of datable men in a 50-mile radius
  2. Our desire to share our lives with someone and have children
  3. Wondering what has hit the water in this town lately – seriously, most of our married mutual acquaintances are pregnant
  4. Realizing that this very moment in time is probably not the best to have a relationship begin
  5. Wondering how to go about meeting “viable options” in a “land of desolation”

At the end of our conversation, she relayed a chat she had with our Matushka (Ortho-lingo for “priest’s wife”). In that conversation, Matushka was noting that while single Orthodox men happen to have a high concentration at the three Orthodox seminaries, those places are great to find a husband but not necessarily your soul-mate.

I know what my Matushka was saying, and I agree with her. Yet, I don’t like what is implied in saying that I’m searching for my “soul-mate.” You can’t just look at someone, evaluate his (lasting) qualities, but then refuse developing a relationship because you two “aren’t soul-mates” or “don’t have that special soulful-spiritual bond.” What a freakin’ load of crap! If I’m not mistaken, a relationship takes work regardless of whether you feel that person is your soul-mate or not.

Thus after hearing about the lack of soul mate material at a seminary, I said, “Maybe the question should be ‘is this person good for my soul’ rather than ‘is this person my soul-mate’?”

Wait a second.

Did I just have a spark of genius?!?!?

I feel that I am now getting into unfamiliar and uncharted territory for my relationship wisdom. While I know what I am looking for in my future husband, I lack experience in the longevity department. Or the getting a date department. Or the connecting department for that matter. So, would my (limited) readership care to comment?

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

