Thawed


So, in my moving frenzy, I made a mistake last Sunday – I went to sleep. Here’s how last week shaped up:

Wednesday, August 8: everything from my storage unit was transferred to a truck and moved to my house in Indy.

Friday, August 10: I loaded a bunch of stuff into my RAV4, and my goal for the evening is sorting enough in my bedroom so I could sleep on my bed and see part of the floor.

Sunday, August 12: I pick up my remaining items in Bloomington, along with my fridge and freezer items. I promptly bring everything into the house, however, before I remember to put it in the freezer, I collapse on my bed. Since I haven’t been sleeping well the past week and a half, I was up at 4:30 or 5 AM.

My first thought: “Oh, crap! Freezer!”

Somethings were okay, therefore could still be shoved in with minor negative effects. The shredded zucchini, pumpkin puree, persimmon puree, cranberries, navy beans, and a smattering of other things were NOT okay. Dang.

This meant that on Monday, I started baking. I was gone most of yesterday and today, thus I just finished the baking spree. Here’s the final tally:

  • White bean hummus
  • 4 loaves zucchini bread
  • 2 loaves pumpkin bread
  • 2 dozen peach muffins
  • 1 dozen cranberry surprise muffins
  • 1 dozen cranberry-orange muffins
  • 1 persimmon pudding.

I feel that “…and a partridge in a pear tree” should be next.

The white bean hummus was based off an idea I had heard about 6 months ago. I didn’t really use a recipe, I more went off my knowledge of chickpea hummus – flavorings and amounts of things – to make something acceptable. The zucchini bread, pumpkin bread, and persimmon pudding were all from my recipe collection.

I found the peach muffin recipe here.

For the cranberry muffins, I did something different. I had already made the cranberries into a sauce, so I looked up a basic muffin recipe and dropped a teaspoon or so of sauce in the middle to make cranberry surprise muffins. I liked the idea of continuing on that trend, yet I was getting tired. So for the next batch of muffins, I just mixed 1/4 to 1/3 cup of the sauce in with the batter.

At least breakfast for the next month is completely covered!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mydearbakes
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 06:55:18

    You make terrific bakes, my dear! =)

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

