All Grown-up! (Plus a Rant on Pronoun Usage)


That’s right! This past move I entered another phase of the adult world. It was not a meticulous packing of all my valuable items. It was not being unpacked and organized within one week of the truck being unloaded.

I embraced adulthood by:

SENDING NEW ADDRESS ANNOUNCEMENTS!

In the past, I’ve updated most people via email or not at all. Let’s face it, most post-college people don’t send out a Christmas letter. That time of life has most postal communication through wedding and baby shower invitations. I did send a letter to friends and family the year I moved to Indiana, and it was well received. I guess that could count as a moving announcement. This time around, close friends and family received this lovely postcard picture in their mail over the past month:

Copyright 2011 TallRayofSunshine

I found a sweet deal through Winkflash.com for printing up postcards, and knowing that I wanted to send out bonafide notices to people, I ordered 30 to be printed. After the coupon and shipping, I paid $3.99 for custom postcards. Sadly, I didn’t know my new address at the time, and the deal was close to expiring, so I wasn’t able to have my new address already printed for me. However, this does allow me to use the postcards for whatever I desire and not have all of them devoted to change of address. I also got several compliments on the picture, which I took myself on a trip to Germany in 2011.

My only complaint about the whole process was the templates offered by Winkflash for their moving announcements. The reason I went with a generic-looking postcard and no text indicating a move: every moving template used plural pronouns. Seriously.

The templates’ text was akin to “We’ve moved” or “Our new address.” Sometimes there is an “I” or “My” and no plural.

I know it seems trivial. Most of my friends and family (save the 2 or 3 grammar nazis) probably would not have noticed or commented on the mismatched pronoun if I had ordered them. But out of my own principles, I couldn’t. So, even in the changing world which has embraced most lifestyles and family situations as the norm, apparently graphic designers have forgotten one small aspect: the unattached and single person.

I wanted to send out a moving announcement with a special touch, so I improvised. I probably could have called in my sister or a photography friend to help in the design or Photoshop work. But sometimes, you just have to do what comes first, and maybe now that the ordeal is mostly over, I’ve ended up with the better option: more personal and no grammar error.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 08:12:50

    Hey, who are you calling a grammar nazi…!?! 🙂

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

