Things I Miss…


It’s a typical night here in Indy. I’ve come home from school; I relaxed and ate. I did my work for the next day and now I’m blogging. But something about this night feels wrong. And once I identified it, I’m not sure how to fix it.

Ready?

I hate cooking for one person.

There – I built you up for that one little thing. I’m so extroverted that even my meal planning needs to include other people.

My roommates are great, but we don’t do “family” dinners. Mostly because we have such different kitchen styles. One of my roomies is from Africa and the other doesn’t like to cook. It’s just a bit of a shock to the system when my summer was spent either having meals with The Brain and wife or me calling up The Frau and saying, “I have _____ on hand. Can I come to your house and cook this along with things that you have?”

It seems to take for-ev-er to rotate my fridge and freezer stock. Most of my go-to recipes are in quantities for 4-6 people, which means I’m eating dishes for 3-5 days rather than 2-3. And my dinner company – the dog with her hopeful eyes.

Access to recipes sized for one or two is not the problem – I have magazines and cookbooks for that. Meals are to be shared, not just eaten. There should be conversation or managing the babies and little kids, not silence.

I like to be hospitable rather than retreat to my home. And I just haven’t found that stride yet in Indy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ibrahim
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 20:10:57

    Wish am living near by you ! i would have showed you every day new African recpie i know how lazy are your roommates ! lol ! i love coocking and associate with others ! Enjoy your week-END.

    Reply

  2. Rebekah
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 12:41:41

    I’m sorry to hear about your plight. It reminded me of when we called you one random Saturday morning and offered you a pancake breakfast (with anything but silence). 🙂

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

