Late


I don’t know if being late is an American thing, a Mid-west thing, or just something chronically passed down through my family. I was told when I became Orthodox that being late was one of the ways I was “embracing my faith.”

Regardless of the reasoning, I’ve started an active consciousness towards being early and on-time. It’s rather sad that it took me until age 30 to realize why I should take this on, but alas, it’s when I started.

  1. Yes, I’m a people-pleaser, so I don’t like it when I’m a disappointment. But if my student/client has made this time for me, I should be there. Conversely, if I am the student/client, I want to start on time. I have other things before and after, they have a life outside of my time with them.
  2. I represent the other professionals. If someone’s frustration with music or nursing is based off my interaction, then that lack of appreciation and respect is my fault. Yes, it seems like a lot on my shoulders. But I can’t control others.
  3. It causes less strain on me: Coming in with 30 seconds to get ready only creates more stress. Even 5 minutes of set-up and prep can help the appointment or lesson go so much better.
  4. I get the seat I want in class. The worst class period for me thus far was when I got to class with 2 minutes to spare, but all the other over-achievers got there first. Lecture was less than exciting, it was right after lunch, and I was in one of the farthest seats from the professor. Snooze city.

Yes, it’s easier when you LIKE an activity or appointment to get there on time.

I had a complete fail in this category yesterday. I was late to an appointment because I couldn’t find a parking space; only later did I find out that I actually could park in a rather empty lot. I rescheduled for another time at which point I slept through my alarm, woke up 30 minutes after my appointment was to start. I guess that meeting just wasn’t to happen this week.

Today, however, I actually woke up with my morning alarm. Bandit was with me, so her stirring caused me to be semi-conscious between 6-7 AM. It was a lab day, so my clothing was already chosen (scrubs). I had most everything ready in my backpack and the coffee brewed rather quickly. Class was at 9, I was out the door at 8; I was out the door 35, thirty-five, minutes early.

Or, in the words of one of my classmates, “What are you doing here??”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. S. Trevor Swenson
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 16:13:40

    Nice read. I am generally a prompt person. Inevitably life makes us late sometimes…traffic. life, other people etc.In these instances I call, tell whomever I am running late and apologize.
    What drives me crazy are the chronically late (VERY late) people who just don’t seem to give a damn about who they inconvenience, keep waiting around, or what have you. It is decidedly selfish and rude. Ever have a friend like this and no matter how you impress upon them that it is essential that they are on time…they are still late. I think it’s also a subconcious power thing.
    Good for you for making an effort to be on time. It shows character, consideration and concern for your fellow man.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

