College Round 2


You know what I did not miss one bit about my first college experience once I finished: scholarship applications.

Even though I am not financially well endowed, I’m still have a code attached to my FAFSA that somehow communicates “In your wildest dreams” to anyone in financial aid. This means I either pay for school on my own (what I’ve been doing the past 2 years) or find alternate means of funding.

I do not, repeat DO NOT, want to take on any debt for nursing. My first year I should be okay. The second year is why I’m applying for scholarships.

Yay. Fun. No, really. I love it.

I have to come up with elegant and non-traditional, but not-too-flowery ways of saying, “I’m wonderful. Give me money.” Or, “I’m a reasonable person. I deserve your attention. Check – NOW!”

12 years ago, there were few places to search for scholarships. Now, scholarships have turned into another scamming possibility. Read the website carefully. Thankfully, with nursing there are national and state associations to help me out. But there are still the applications and essays. I guess the consolation is knowing that my little bit of stress right now will pay off if I happen to be awarded money from the university or private fund.

So, here’s to the tears and prayers going into my applications. Lord have mercy.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brigid
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 16:01:17

    Have you looked into the PEO? They have a few good (smaller, four-figure) scholarships and very low-interest loans.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

