Tricks of the Trade


I have multiple updates working right now, but while fresh in my mind, I thought I should share an experience from this past week.

Before I moved to Indy, I decided that the transition plus the stress of school warranted that I look into a counselor/therapist for at least the first few semesters. Remembering my past bouts with depression, the last thing I wanted was a significant slump during my time in school.

I chose to utilize the student center here on campus – convenient and inexpensive – but not unprofessional:

I didn’t intend to make it anything more than a “check-in” or neutral party that could look out for me; I just knew that I was susceptible to depressive symptoms and wanted to have a support network in place so spiraling emotions could be “nipped in the bud” before becoming a problem. It is never enthralling to hear someone say that there are emotions you can work through more, and oh, how about we meet once a week!

Gulp. Pride never goes down easily. I felt a little like this:

I will say that with this and my past counselor, going into the intake appointment with the attitude of, “I’m going to tell them everything possible” rather than guarding myself and anyone in my past has helped more than I realized. My first counselor had to work really hard for me to open up about why I was there. Then again, some things in the heart are so guarded that one is blinded and blocked from seeing themselves let alone others.

Anyway, this past week in an appointment, I was talking about a few experiences in my Psych clinicals. One of which, I already wrote about. I also mentioned how my experiences around patients in the psych ward were bringing to mind my own treatment of depression for myself.

Counselor: “Tell me more about that.”

Me: “BAHAHAHAHA!! Good use of your ‘therapeutic techniques’!”

I actually feel sorry for my counselor. He now has to sit through a session with someone who not only has previous experiences in counseling, but also is learning and practicing therapeutic techniques and knows the medical side of mental illness. He chuckled at my “compliment”, and yes, I did tell him more.

As a beginning medical practitioner, I’m still not sure which camp of knowledge I like belonging to. Did I prefer my previous state of ignorance, merely knowing the basic processes of the body and more common ailments? Am I reluctant to enter my new knowledge base? Or will I now attempt to intellectualize and medicate my way out of every physiologic snafu?

As with most of my life questions, I feel as though the answer is to continue on the journey. Pray. Cry. Seek first the Kingdom of God. Be honest with myself. Emote. Accept what is.

In essence: Be human.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. philologia
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 21:38:38

    Being human is a good way to start and end the day.

    Reply

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

