The Questions


I’m in an accelerated nursing program. It is geared specifically for people who already have a bachelor’s degree in another field and want to receive their bachelor’s in nursing rather than an associate’s degree. A common question in the first semester is, “What was your previous degree?”

But then, people decide they want to know you more. They now have two options:

1. “Why did you leave ______?”

2. “What lead you to nursing?”

I know that I’m having a bad month here in Ray of Sunshine Land, but for the love of God, these questions are getting on my nerves.

So, let me answer them for you –

1. I didn’t like teaching; I liked interacting with the students, and I liked singing. Teaching those concepts was draining the life out of me. Oh, might I mention a few colleagues made my life a living hell? Yes, teachers can eat their young as well. I found that I was selfish with music – I need it to be my relaxation. I don’t see music and arts as the first thing that people need for their lives. Public education bad days

2. I had a quarter-life crisis. Got tired of doors slamming in my face. Wiped the slate clean of my options, looked at my skill set. Thought about nursing, pursued it and doors opened. Loved the opportunities. Most every clinical I end thinking, “Maybe this career track is for me?” It fits my preferred M.O. as I like to be at a place and just go. I’m not an 8-5 for 5 days person.

And last thing while wrapping this up, I’m tired of hearing, “you’ll always have a job” from people who think they know healthcare because they had their immunizations. Kind of like the people who think they know education because they were students. Nurses are generally the biggest part of an organization’s budget. We are generally the first to feel budget cuts. Yes, there are always healthcare jobs. There are always teaching jobs. They just might not be what the person prefers to be doing in their career.

End rant. Back to studying.

Comments:

sublimetoday

Love Your Look!

Single Christian Girls

Because we're all crazy. Someone just needed to say something.

Nurse Eye Roll

humor | honesty | nursey shenanigans

The Orthodox Clergy Wife by Presbytera Anonyma

the secret sisterhood of Orthodox clergy wives

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Orthogals

striving for truth ... and normality

In All Things

"Grant us to greet the coming day in peace. In all things help us to do Your will..."

The Garfield Park Arts Center

The center for arts in Indy Parks

Heaven is at Hand

Struggling in Christ for Authentic Life

